Tuesday, 20 October 2020

Noble Prize in Medicine 2019 for US, UK scientists

07 October 2019 | News

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is jointly awarded to three winners

Source : twitter

Source : twitter

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2019 has been jointly awarded to three winners, William G. Kaelin Jr., Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza, for their work in discovering how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability. The Nobel Assembly announced the prize at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm on October 07.

The three winners were awarded for their discoveries of "how cells sense and adapt to oxygen and availability". Their work is relevant to everything from pregnancy to cancer, as oxygen levels are vital to sustaining animal life.

US based researchers William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza shared the prize equally with Peter Ratcliffe, who is from Britain.
The nobel prize is awarded each year to the person or group deemed to have made an outstanding discovery within the domains of life sciences and medicine.
(Source : Public Domain) 

Sign up for the editor pick and get articles like this delivered right to your inbox.

Editors Pick
+Country Code-Phone Number(xxx-xxxxxxx)


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account