Sunday, 31 May 2020

Dr. George W. Sledge to join the board of Tessa

21 December 2018 | News

Dr. George W. Sledge, Jr., M.D., is Professor and Chief of Medical Oncology at the Stanford University Medical Center

Tessa Therapeutics, a clinical-stage immunotherapy company focused on autologous and off-the-shelf, allogeneic therapies for cancer patients, has announced that Dr. George W. Sledge, Jr., M.D., Professor and Chief of Medical Oncology at Stanford University Medical Center, will join Tessa's Board of Directors as an independent director, effective 2 January 2019.

This appointment marks another significant step to strengthen Tessa's industry expertise, as the company builds and advances its portfolio of therapies to treat more cancer patients worldwide.

Commenting on his new role, Dr. Sledge said, "I am extremely excited to join Tessa's Board of Directors. Cellular immunotherapy has demonstrated remarkable results and I am looking forward to working with the entire team at Tessa to further accelerate the development of this field. Tessa's bourgeoning pipeline of ground-breaking immunotherapies and the team's passion and commitment to help improve the lives of cancer patients globally are truly impressive. I am eager to work alongside my fellow directors and the management to support the Company in developing more innovative and effective cancer treatment options for patients in need."

Dr. Sledge serves as co-chair of the Susan G. Komen Foundation Scientific Advisory Board and is a past President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). He was also former Chair of the Breast Committee of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) where he oversaw the development of several nationwide Phase III clinical trials, a member of the FDA's Oncologic Drugs Advisory Committee and a member of the National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Clinical Trials Advisory Committee.

Dr. Sledge was awarded the Susan G. Komen San Francisco Bay Area Visionary Award in 2018, in recognition of the important advancements he has made in medical research focused on breast cancer. He was also a recipient of the Hope Funds for Cancer Research 2013 Award of 'Excellence for Medicine', the 2010 William L. McGuire Award from the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium and the Breast Cancer Research Foundation's 2007 Jill Rose Award.


Sign up for the editor pick and get articles like this delivered right to your inbox.

Editors Pick
+Country Code-Phone Number(xxx-xxxxxxx)


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account