

## Dr Anna Lavelle gets ATSE fellowship

21 October 2014 | Influencers | By BioSpectrum Bureau

## Dr Anna Lavelle gets ATSE fellowship



**Singapore:** Dr Anna Lavelle, CEO, AusBiotech, has been elected to Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), an independent body of 800 eminent Australian scientists and engineers seeking to enhance Australia's prosperity through technological innovation.

Dr Lavelle was among key business names, leading academics, prominent commercial innovators and high-ranking public sector figures who were also elected to the Academy - including Australia's Chief Scientist, Prof Ian Chubb.

Dr Alan Finkel AM, president, ATSE and chancellor of Monash University welcomed Dr Lavelle, who joins existing Fellows such as technology, research, business and biotechnology leaders including Dr Deborah Rathjen, Chair of AusBiotech and CEO of Bionomics, Dr Greg Roger, recipient of ATSE's prestigious Clunies Ross Award (2004) and CEO of Vestech, Dr Silviu Itescu, Chief Executive of Mesoblast, and Dr Meera Verma, former AusBiotech Director and founder of Headland Vision.

Dr Rathjen said, "As a Fellow of ATSE and Chair of AusBiotech, I welcome Dr Lavelle's election to the Fellowship."

Dr Meera Verma, SA Chair of ATSE, said, "As a former director of AusBiotech I have first-hand experience of working with Dr Lavelle and take great pleasure in welcoming another senior woman to the Academy."

Dr Lavelle will be inducted as a Fellow of ATSE on 28 November 2014 and looks forward to working with this elite group to make a contribution to nation-building, innovative projects undertaken by the Academy.