

Australian academy of science gets new council members

21 November 2012 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

Australian academy of science gets new council member



Singapore: Internationally-recognized experts in computing and atmospheric physics, developmental biology, organometallic chemistry and evolutionary genetics have been elected to join the Australian Academy of Science's Council from May 2013.

Evolutionary genetics Professor Oliver Mayo, of CSIRO Livestock Industries and the University of Adelaide, will become the new treasurer, replacing Professor Michael Dopita of the Australian National University.

Organometallic chemist Professor Les Field, deputy VC, research, University of New South Wales, will assume the role of secretary for science policy, succeeding Professor Bob Williamson of the University of Melbourne.

Developmental biologist Professor Peter Koopman of the University of Queensland will replace Professor Richard Hobbs of the University of Western Australia as a biological sciences member.

The Australian Academy of Science is a fellowship of Australia's leading research scientists. It is committed to recognising scientific excellence, improving science education and public understanding, informing science policy and fostering international scientific relations.