

Taiwan to form new medical teams for six countries

03 June 2018 | News

The six countries to benefit from the health team plan are India, Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand.



The Ministry of Health and Welfare has announced that it will be forming six medical teams to focus on six countries covered by the government's New Southbound Policy.

After coming to power in May 2016, President Tsai Ing-wen launched the policy to intensify contacts with the countries of South Asia and Southeast Asia.

The six countries to benefit from the health team plan are India, Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand.

The new program will include the training of medical personnel, the providing of useful information, and the promotion of medical cooperation.